Block Diagram of 8259 Microprocessor

  • 8259 microprocessor can be programmed according to given interrupts condition and it can be provided either with level or edge triggered interrupt level.
  • It can be programmed either work in 8085 or in 8086 microprocessors.
  • Individual interrupt bits can be masked.
  • By conducting more number of 8259 we can get upto 64 interrupt pins.

It contains 3 rigisters commonly known as ISR, IRR, IMR & there is 1 priority resolver (PR).

  1. Interrupt Request Register (IRR): It stores those bits which are requesting for their interrupt services.
  2. Interrupt Service Register (ISR): It stores that interrupt levels which is currently being servied.
  3. Interrupt Mask Register (IMR): It stores that interrupt levels which have to be masked. These interrupts levels are already acccepted by 8259 microprocessor.

Priority Resolver (PR): It examines all the 3 registers and set the priority of interrupts and set the interrupt levels in ISR which has highest priority and rest the interrupt bit is IRR which is already accepted.

SP/EN (low active pin): If its value is 1 it works in master mode & if its value=e is 0 then it works in slave mode.

Cascade Buffer: It is used to cascade more number of Programmable Interrupt Controller to increase the interrupts handling capability upto 64 level.

This article is attributed to GeeksforGeeks.org

leave a comment



load comments

Subscribe to Our Newsletter