Generation of Programming Languages

There are five generation of Programming languages.They are:
First Generation Languages :
These are low-level languages like machine language.
Second Generation Languages :
These are low-level assembly languages used in kernels and hardware drives.
Third Generation Languages :
These are high-level languages like C, C++, Java, Visual Basic and JavaScript.
Fourth Generation Languages :
These are languages that consist of statements that are similar to statements in the human language. These are used mainly in database programming and scripting. Example of these languages include Perl, Python, Ruby, SQL, MatLab(MatrixLaboratory).
Fifth Generation Languages :
These are the programming languages that have visual tools to develop a program. Examples of fifth generation language include Mercury, OPS5, and Prolog.

The first two generations are called low level languages. The next three generations are called high level languages.

Please write comments if you find anything incorrect, or you want to share more information about the topic discussed above.

This article is attributed to GeeksforGeeks.org

leave a comment



load comments

Subscribe to Our Newsletter